Author Topic: Dagger Mamba Creeker 8.1 for beginner?  (Read 8280 times)

Offline neddy

• View Profile
Dagger Mamba Creeker 8.1 for beginner?
« on: August 20, 2017, 06:24:57 PM »
Hi All,
I've been keen to get into whitewater kayaking for a while now, but sadly, have done nothing about it. I was browsing in a local shop the other day & I see a brand new Dagger Mamba Creeker for just under a grand (which seems like a pretty good deal) & I think, this is it, just buy it a get out there. But then, I think, it's still almost a grand, maybe you should go home & do a bit more research, which is exactly what happened. I've done the usual Google searches, but found it to be a minefield of information (river runner, creeker, hard or soft chines etc.), I found myself going around in circles & thought I'd throw it out there to the Canberra whitewater community for advice.
I have no experience whitewater kayaking, a bit in a sports raft & plenty in a sea kayak & on a waveski, so like to think I have the basics of paddling down. I'm located on the NSW south coast, so would be looking to start out on the Shoalhaven & Murrumbidgee. The boat is an 8.1, I'm 182cm & 78kg.
Any thoughts on whether this boat would be a good place to start (or not) would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Brad.

Offline alex

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Dagger Mamba Creeker 8.1 for beginner?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 05:28:06 PM »
Hey Brad, this forum is pretty quiet these days.  The Kayak Canberra facebook group is a lot more active: https://www.facebook.com/groups/565201630237337/

The mamba will be an awesome first boat and that sounds like a great deal.  You're getting a brand new boat at second hand prices so if you do decide it's not for you you'll be able to recover most of your $$$.   Plenty of advanced paddlers out there paddling this boat, it's not going to hold you back as your skills develop!

Offline neddy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2017, 08:03:57 PM »
Hi Alex,